Image
0

Shiok Shiok Singapore Famous Hawker Food Review

While on the way home from Sta. Teresita Hospital, we passed by Banawe, Quezon City and saw this building that resembles the colourful shophouses in Singapore. It says “Shiok Shiok Singapore famous Hawker Food” and tada…I instantly craved for Singapore food and remembered the good old days when I was in that country, enjoying their tasteful cuisines. I miss the Ayam Penyet (smashed fried chicken with chilli paste), Prawn Hokkien noodles and all their healthy bento meals. Whoopee!

1

When we entered the restaurant, it has this old Singapore hawker vibe. The interior design, particularly of the wall, depicts stalls that sell the Singapore’s famous food—Claypot Chicken rice, Hokkien Prawn Mee noodles and Satay.

6

One corner has vintage cans of Milo displayed. Milo is Singaporean’s staple drinks in the past–and probably until now as I noticed a lot of people still ordering this drink together with their kaya toasts for breakfast!

The restaurant looks like the Singapore Food Trail in the Singapore Flyer except that it only has one real stall that serves all the different cuisines you can usually find in a hawker.

And so we requested for the menu.

4

5

Hooray! I felt my saliva slipping out my mouth. Didn’t know that taste buds store taste memories. I can taste them as I read through every meal. I ordered for Nasi Lemak, Laksa Rice, Penang chendol and hot milk tea.

I opted for Nasi Lemak as this used to be my comfort food and the first meal I ate when I arrived in Singapore. It was excellent—I love it being a little bit salty, crunchy, juicy and tasty at the same time as it has anchovies, peanuts, cucumber, and the rice and chicken were boiled in coconut milk. It’s also the cheapest yet filling meal you can find in hawkers.

So our orders arrived in reasonable speed.

7

Nasi Lemak (P135)

Their Nasi Lemak would have tasted better if they also boil the chicken in coconut milk and fry the rice together with the peanuts and fish. Nonetheless I ended up wanting for more—was it because of the food or I was just hungry?

8

Laksa rice (P135)

The Laksa Rice on the other hand is creamy and outstanding. They have generous servings for this one so hubby couldn’t finish it off alone. I got to taste it too and think it’s luscious. However, it helps to have a sip of milk tea or iced milo while consuming this as it is nakakaumay  when too much.

9

Chendol (P85)

Lastly, we tried the Penang Chendol, a popular traditional Southeast Asia dessert. This dessert is memorable to me as I tasted it in a hawker in Geylang Serai Market, situated in the center of Singapore Malay community, where I met two Malay women who gave me scarves just because they had fun conversing with me. They told me chendol is a must-try dessert! It has jelly noodles made up of rice flour (that green worm-like ingredient), palm sugar and coconut milk. I guess it also has red beans. In Indonesia, you can buy chendol from roaming vendors, like our taho.

Shiok Shiok’s version of chendol tastes authentic. It’s sweet and milky, can be a good alternative to our halu-halo in case you want to taste something new.

For a restaurant with great service and good food, the price of the dishes was just fair. I find it affordable; you’ll be ashamed not to add a small amount as tip.

 

Next time we go here, we will try Ba-kut-te , beef rendang and hokkien noodles. Let’s see if they can provide great value for money.

By the way ”Shiok” is a Malay term used as an expression of happiness and pleasure. It is used to express delight with an experience especially when eating great food.

Shiok Shiok restaurant is open every day from 8am-10pm.

Exact address is 81 Nicanor Roxas St, Banawe, Quezon City, Metro Manila

Shiok!

Leave a Reply

